In July 1, 2020, the Nueva School welcomed Lee Fertig as our new head of school. 

As I complete my first year at Nueva, I continue to be struck by how impactful our learn by doing, learn by caring approach to education is. It invites us to engage in ongoing inquiry, challenges us to be our very best selves, connects us with others who are equally interested in learning, empowers us to self-direct our own growth, and holds us accountable to be lifelong learners.

– Head of School Lee Fertig, in an email to the community on June 9, 2021

School Leadership

Lee Fertig Head of School
Terry Lee Associate Head of School
Megan Terra Lower School Division Head
Karen Tiegel Middle School Division Head
Liza Raynal Upper School Division Head
Alegria Barclay Director of Social Justice & Equity
Gavin Bradley Director of College Counseling
Joe Cheeseman Director of Development
Taryn Grogan Director of Enrollment & Strategic Engagement
Elizabeth Rossini Director of Teaching & Learning


2021–2022 Board of Trustees

Officers of the Board of Trustees

Kathleen Donohue
Gerald Risk
Hoon Cho
Puja Kaul
Co-Vice Chairs


Leon Kuan


Kat Alfond
Peter Blaustein
Derrick Bolton
Mei Chen
Janet Cheston
Bruce Cozadd
Tammy Crown
Bonnie Fought
Robert Frank
Ann Wilson Green
Louisa Gillett
Zack Herlick
Rie Hirabaru
Rick Holmstrom
Mary Hynes
Kevin Lynch
Karen Pace
Kristina Phipps
Allison Rouse
Jody Sievers
Marc Tarpenning


The Nueva Parents Association (NPA)

The Nueva Parents Association promotes, shares, and transmits our "Learn by doing, learn by caring" culture to each new generation of Nueva families. 

Learn How Parents Get Involved