2017 Speakers

Damon Allswang

2nd Grade Teacher, The Nueva School

Greg Amrofell

Co-Founder and Partner, Intentional Futures

Tony Anscombe

Global Security Evangelist, Consultant, ESET

Mark Applebaum

Professor of Music, Stanford University

Susan Assouline

Director, Belin-Blank Center; Myron and Jacqueline Blank, University of Iowa, College of Education

Jeremy Bailenson

Associate Professor and Director, Virtual Human Interaction Lab, Stanford University

Alegria Barclay

PreK-12 Equity & Social Justice Director, The Nueva School

Joel Baum

Senior Director of Professional Development, Gender Spectrum

Carolyn Becker

Professor Dept. Of Psychology, Trinity University

Warren Berger


Matt Berman

Fourth Grade Teacher / Website Director, The Nueva School

Jo Boaler

Professor, Stanford University, Graduate School of Education

Martin Boroson

Founder, The One Moment Company

Pete Bowers

Founder, WordWorks Literacy Center 

Peter C. Brown


Zach Brown

Executive Director, Inian Islands Institute

Nadine Burke Harris

Founder, Center for Youth Wellness

Erik Burmeister

Superintendent, Menlo Park City School District

Mary Cantwell

Design Thinking Educator, Co-founder of #dtk12chat

Victor Carrión

John A. Turner, M.D. Professor, Director, Stanford Early Life Stress and Pediatric Anxiety Program Stanford University, School of Medicine

Mary Cantwell

Founder, Lime Design; Lecturer, d.school, Stanford University

Sin-Tung Chiu

Menuhin Violin Instructor, Director of Nueva String Ensemble, The Nueva School

Nicholas Colangelo

Dean Emeritus, Belin-Blank Center, College of Education, University of Iowa

Rich Crandall

Education Director, Intentional Futures

Charlotte Danielson

Author; Founder, The Danielson Group

William Damon

Professor and Director, Center on Adolescence, Stanford University

Al Davies

LS, MS & US I-Lab Engineer, The Nueva School

Ellen Deutscher

Educator, Co-founder of #dtk12chat

Keith Devlin

Executive Director, H-STAR institute; co-founder, Stanford mediaX research network, Stanford University

K. Anders Ericsson

Conradi Eminent Scholar and Professor of Psychology, Florida State University

Fred Estes

Lower School Science Coordinator & Teacher, The Nueva School

David Flink

Chief Empowerment Officer, Eye to Eye National

Saraleah Fordyce

Faculty in Critical Studies and MFA Design, California College of the Arts

Hillary Freedman

Director, Internship Programs/Ninth Grade Dean, The Nueva School

Carolee Fucigna

PreK Teacher and CADP Coordinator, The Nueva School

Allen Frost

Middle & Upper School English Teacher, The Nueva School

Ericka Fur

Upper School Learning Support Specialist, The Nueva School

Derrick Gay

Education Consultant

Philippe Goldin

Assistant Professor, UC Davis Betty Irene Moore School of Nursing

David Gould

Administrator at the Belin-Blank International Center and the Provost’s Office of Outreach and Engagement; Honors Faculty, University of Iowa

Michelle Grau

Technology, Innovation Design & Engineering Coach, The Nueva School

Brian Greenberg

Chief Executive Officer, Silicon Schools Fund

Edward (Ned) Hallowell

Child and Adult Psychiatrist, Learning Differences Expert, Founder of The Hallowell Centers

Lisa Hinshelwood

Lower School SEL Teacher, The Nueva School

Fumiko Hoeft

Associate Professor, Director of BrainLENS (Laboratory of Educational NeuroScience), UCSF School of Medicine

Courtney Johnson

Upper School Art Teacher, The Nueva School

Niko Janik

Makerspace/Engineering Coordinator, Ravenswood City School District

Lauri Jones

Art and Design Thinking Teacher, The Westminster Schools

Sandra Kaplan

Professor of Clinical Education, USC — Rossier School of Education

Heidi Kasevich

Director of Education, Quiet Revolution

Katie Kelly

3rd Grade Teacher, The Nueva School

Dacher Keltner

Professor; Founder, Greater Good Science Center, UC Berkeley

Barbara Kerr

Williamson Family Distinguished Professor of Counseling, Psychology, University of Kansas

Neeru Khosla

Co-founder and Chair, CK12 Foundation

Maria Klawe

President, Harvey Mudd College

Peter Koehler

Lower & Middle School Math Teacher, The Nueva School

Cynthia Kosut

Middle School Humanities Teacher/8th Grade Dean, The Nueva School

Veena Krishnan

Upper School Math and Science Teacher, The Nueva School

Mark Kushner

Head of School, Impact School 

Jennifer Harvey Ladinsky

Reading Specialist, Mindfulness Instructor, Palo Alto Unified School District

Robert Landeau

Strategist, Two Roads Education LLC

David Levy

Professor, University of Washington, Information School

Catherine Lewis

Distinguished Research Scholar, Mills College

Charles Limb

Professor, UC San Francisco

Connie Liu

Professor, UC San Francisco

Dalton Lobos Dias

6th Grade Science Teacher, The Nueva School

Scott Looney

Head of School, Hawken School

Rebecca Loveless

LS Structured Word Inquiry Coach, The Nueva School

Julie Lythcott-Haims

Educational Speaker, Educator, Author

Simone Marean

Co-Founder and Executive Director, Girls Leadership Institute

Kevin Mattingly

Professor; Director of Co-Curriculum, Columbia Teachers College; Riverdale School

Tom McFadden

Middle School Science Teacher, The Nueva School

Danielle McReynolds-Dell

Upper School Math Teacher, The Nueva School

Erin Metcalf

3rd Grade Teacher, The Nueva School

Lisa Miller

Professor, Psychology and Education; Director, Clinical Psychology Program; Founder Spirituality Mind Body Institute, Columbia University, Teachers College

Emily Mitchell

1st Grade Teacher, The Nueva School

Zubin Mobedshahi

Lower School PE Teacher, The Nueva School

Sam Modest

2nd Grade Teacher, The Nueva School

Micia Mosely

Director, Black Teacher Project

Gloria Moskowitz-Sweet

Co-Founder and Vice-President of Program Development and Training, My Digital TAT2

Mandy Mudde

Upper School Math Teacher, The Nueva School

Lori Mustille

4th Grade Lead STEM Teacher, The Nueva School

Julia Myrick

Art and Design Thinking Teacher, The Westminster Schools

Claire Mysko

CEO, National Eating Disorder Association

Mike Peller

Assistant Head of Upper School for Student Life/Director of Global Initiatives, The Nueva School

Jennifer Perry

Upper and Middle School Writing and Humanities Teacher, The Nueva School

Erin Raab

Co-founder and Executive Director, RE-ENVISIONED

Sally Reis

Letitia Neag Chair of Educational Psychology, Neag School of Education, University of Connecticut

Jenny Rinn

Lower School Director, Brandeis School

Elizabeth Rood

VP, Education Strategy; Director, Center for Childhood Creativity, Bay Area Discovery Museum

Larry Rosenstock

CEO, Founding Principal, HighTech High

Bernie Roth

Co-Founder, Academic Director, Stanford d.School

Lora Saarnio

LS Math/Technology Specialist, The Nueva School

Rush Sabiston Frank